# Cancellation & Reschedule Policy (Booking Widget)

> Easily manage appointment changes by setting cancellation and reschedule policies in your booking widget. Reduce no-shows and automate client communications.

- Source: https://docs.ghlcustomercare.com/docs/calendars-and-appointments/creating-calendars/cancellation-reschedule-policy-booking-widget
- Section: Calendars & Appointments / Creating Calendars
- Reading time: 1 min
- Images: 3, each explained below
- Modified on Mon, 9 Jun, 2025 at 3:21 PM

---
**TABLE OF CONTENTS**

-   [Overview](#overview)
-   [How to use?](#how-to-use)
-   [How do bookers receive the cancellation & reschedule link?](#how-do-bookers-receive-the-cancellation-and-reschedule-link)

---

## **Overview**

The Cancellation & Reschedule Policy setting allows you to define the time frame during which bookers can access the cancellation or reschedule link on the booking widget.

This feature helps you set a window after which bookers cannot access the cancellation or reschedule link to make changes to their appointments. Instead, they will need to contact the business owner for any modifications. This primarily helps businesses avoid last-minute changes to their appointments.

---

## **How to use?**

-   Navigate to Calendar Settings and select the desired calendar.
-   Head to the Notifications and Additional Options section.
-   Under Cancellation and Reschedule Policy, turn on "Allow Cancellation of Meeting" and "Allow Rescheduling of Meeting".

![How to use? (image 1 of 3)](https://s3.amazonaws.com/cdn.freshdesk.com/data/helpdesk/attachments/production/155033230340/original/MGArGrsEbh_tCpZA3xJKHLl8MT4AbFkWww.png)

**How to use? (image 1 of 3)**

This screenshot appears in the "How to use?" section of "Cancellation & Reschedule Policy (Booking Widget)". The text alongside this image reads: Navigate to Calendar Settings and select the desired calendar. Head to the Notifications and Additional Options section. Under Cancellation and Reschedule Policy, turn on "Allow Cancellation of Meeting" and "Allow Rescheduling of Meeting". Immediately after, the guide continues: Specify the time range after which the links should be disabled. (Note: Keeping the value blank means the link will never expire and the booker can access it anytime.).
- Where to go: Navigate to Calendar Settings and select the desired calendar. Head to the Notifications and Additional Options section. Under Cancellation and Reschedule Policy, turn on "Allow Cancellation of Meeting" and "Allow Rescheduling of Meeting".
- Next: Specify the time range after which the links should be disabled. (Note: Keeping the value blank means the link will never expire and the booker can access it anytime.)

Full procedure:

1. Navigate to Calendar Settings and select the desired calendar.
2. Head to the Notifications and Additional Options section.
3. Under Cancellation and Reschedule Policy, turn on "Allow Cancellation of Meeting" and "Allow Rescheduling of Meeting".

-   Specify the time range after which the links should be disabled. (Note: Keeping the value blank means the link will never expire and the booker can access it anytime.)

![How to use? (image 2 of 3)](https://s3.amazonaws.com/cdn.freshdesk.com/data/helpdesk/attachments/production/155033230968/original/erSvM9kLoVd-ymDmepj8Q0ymFUa9TTZOvg.png)

**How to use? (image 2 of 3)**

This screenshot appears in the "How to use?" section of "Cancellation & Reschedule Policy (Booking Widget)". The text alongside this image reads: Specify the time range after which the links should be disabled. (Note: Keeping the value blank means the link will never expire and the booker can access it anytime.). Immediately after, the guide continues: A cancellation and a rescheduling link will be added to the additional notes section and included in the calendar invite. These links will expire as configured, preventing the booker from cancelling or rescheduling the meeting.
- What this covers: Specify the time range after which the links should be disabled. (Note: Keeping the value blank means the link will never expire and the booker can access it anytime.)
- Next: A cancellation and a rescheduling link will be added to the additional notes section and included in the calendar invite. These links will expire as configured, preventing the booker from cancelling or rescheduling the meeting.

Full procedure:

1. Navigate to Calendar Settings and select the desired calendar.
2. Head to the Notifications and Additional Options section.
3. Under Cancellation and Reschedule Policy, turn on "Allow Cancellation of Meeting" and "Allow Rescheduling of Meeting".

**When this setting is enabled:**

A cancellation and a rescheduling link will be added to the additional notes section and included in the calendar invite. These links will expire as configured, preventing the booker from cancelling or rescheduling the meeting.

![How to use? (image 3 of 3)](https://s3.amazonaws.com/cdn.freshdesk.com/data/helpdesk/attachments/production/155028626656/original/zXnX_zWHfeFSujbXsJo_pLkf7ip-kwMigQ.png)

**How to use? (image 3 of 3)**

This screenshot appears in the "How to use?" section of "Cancellation & Reschedule Policy (Booking Widget)". The text alongside this image reads: A cancellation and a rescheduling link will be added to the additional notes section and included in the calendar invite. These links will expire as configured, preventing the booker from cancelling or rescheduling the meeting. Immediately after, the guide continues: When you toggle on "Allow Cancellation" and "Allow Reschedule", these links are added to the additional notes section. The content in this section is then included in the calendar invite in the notes section. Bookers can use those links….
- What this covers: A cancellation and a rescheduling link will be added to the additional notes section and included in the calendar invite. These links will expire as configured, preventing the booker from cancelling or rescheduling the meeting.
- Next: When you toggle on "Allow Cancellation" and "Allow Reschedule", these links are added to the additional notes section. The content in this section is then included in the calendar invite in the notes section. Bookers can use those links to cancel or reschedule their appointments accordingly.

Full procedure:

1. Navigate to Calendar Settings and select the desired calendar.
2. Head to the Notifications and Additional Options section.
3. Under Cancellation and Reschedule Policy, turn on "Allow Cancellation of Meeting" and "Allow Rescheduling of Meeting".

---

## **How do bookers receive the cancellation & reschedule link?**

When you toggle on "Allow Cancellation" and "Allow Reschedule", these links are added to the additional notes section. The content in this section is then included in the calendar invite in the notes section. Bookers can use those links to cancel or reschedule their appointments accordingly.

Alternatively, you can use the custom values {{appointment.reschedule\_link}} and {{appointment.cancellation\_link}} in your workflows to send out these links to the bookers. These values only work if your workflow is triggered by an appointment-based event, such as Appointment Status and Customer Booked Appointment. Workflows without an appointment trigger (like general form submissions or stage changes) will not pass appointment context, and the values will render blank.

---

Documentation for GHL Customer Care. Support: support@ghlcustomercare.com